Will you vote?

Will you vote in the upcoming U.S. presidential elections?

I voted in 2004, but am ashamed to say I didn’t cast a ballot in 2008. For one thing, I couldn’t make up my mind who to vote for, and for another, I just didn’t take the time to figure out how to cast an absentee ballot from Moscow.

I know that politics and religion don’t make for very polite dinner conversation, but I’m so interested to know what you think about the upcoming U.S. presidential elections.

To be honest, I follow Russian politics much more than I do U.S. politics, just because my job requires it. I’m kind of out of the loop when it comes to Obama and Romney. Most of what I know about their political platforms is rhetoric and TV soundbites.  I’ve leaned toward Republican stances in the past, but I really like Obama personally.

I tend to think that most people in both the Republican and Democrat camps ultimately want the same end goal, but they just disagree on how to get there. Do you think that’s true? Beneath all the rhetoric, people usually have a really strong, good reason to vote the way they do, and I love hearing what that reason is.

In any case, the top three issues I’m concerned about in the upcoming U.S. elections are as follows:

  • Healthcare reform
  • The economy: creating jobs, getting our country out of debt!
  • Foreign policy (especially where Russia is concerned)

What about you? Are you going to vote? Have you decided who you’re going to vote for? What issues are important to you? Do you think it’s irresponsible to vote, if you can’t decide who to vote for? Also, do you know any good online resources for information about the candidates for this election? (hopefully as non-biased and non rhetoric-based as possible!)

Looking forward to hearing your thoughts…

P.S. The above someecards card made me laugh…although, actually, I do sometimes like  reading political articles that people post…Card found here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

