Anna Karenina

The famous Tolstoy novel ‘Anna Karenina‘ is being made into a film starring Keira Knightley!

Great news, wouldn’t you agree? Would you go see it? This makes me want to go re-read the book…

Have you read Anna Karenina? I read half of it in university for my Tolstoy class. The only reason that I didn’t finish it is because half way through the class my professor gave away the ending. Don’t look down on me though – I did finish War & Peace that semester (Not a book I’d recommend! Do you agree with me, my fellow Russophiles? The ‘peace’ parts were tolerable, but the ‘war’ parts were unbearably boring…!)

P.S. Did you have a good weekend? Economist husband and I had a great two days off together – highlights included homemade Chinese, some red wine, new films, and rearranging our furniture…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Anna Karenina

  1. Phyllis says:

    Yes! I’m halfway through rereading it right now, in Russian this time. I’m just amazed by the beauty. It wasn’t nearly so wonderful in English. I don’t know if I’d watch a movie version, though; books are usually so much better than movies. However, is that Anna showing at the beginning of your movie clip above? (I didn’t watch it.) If so, she’s just about exactly how I would have imagined.

    • Phyllis, yes, I think that is Anna at the beginning. So impressed that you’re reading it in Russian…I still can’t really enjoy reading in Russian…

      • Phyllis says:

        It took me quite a while to get to where I enjoy reading in Russian. This is a relatively new thing for me. I actually probably read more in Russian than in English now. I just wish it would show in my ability to speak intelligently.

  2. Tara says:

    Hi Elizabeth! i hope you and Max are doing great, and that summer in Moscow is treating you well. I vividly remember spending hot, hot, hot days in the smokey city, and having wonderful times in your cool apartment and around town (like that awesome art museum!).

    Anyway, I just wanted to pop in to say hi, and to tell you that i still read every post of your blog and love it, and to ask you a question. Which Russian classics are your favorites? Which one would you recommend to a newbie like me, for their first foray into the rich world of Russian literature?

    • Tara,
      I love hearing from you – it’s mutual – i still read every blog update you guys post. I’m so excited to see you get started on your homestead. Keep up the posts and pictures. Re: Russian literature Dostoevsky’s Crime & Punishment is my all time favorite – a really good read. I also like Nabokov – his characters are so well-done and funny…Also his books are generally shorter than Dostoevsky’s. Have you read any good books lately? Are you still writing??

  3. taraalan says:

    Hi Elizabeth, I’m so glad you\’re still reading our site, too. It makes me happy knowing that you’re updated on what we’re up to.

    Anyway, thanks for the reading advice! I put Crime and Punishment on my list of books to read, and I’ll have to check out Nabokov, too. Right now, I’m working on a few books: ”How we Decide” by Jonah Lehrer (really good), ”Moby Dick” by Herman Melville (not sure I’m going to make it), and ”Grace (Eventually)” by the wonderful Anne Lamott (it’s hilarious and insightful with incredible writing, as usual–thanks for introducing us to her!). And I just started ”Girl with the Dragon Tattoo”. I may need to stop taking on new books until I’ve finished these…

    To answer your question, yes, I have been writing. I’ve been writing (and recipe testing, and photographing, and laying out) a bicycle touring cookbook! I should have it done by the end of this summer. It’s been a really fun project (though way more work than I was anticipating…).

    Well, I hope you can enjoy some hot dogs or barbecue or strawberry shortcake or something summery for the 4th of July. Hugs to you and Max!

    • Tara, I love this little update from you! I haven’t read that particular Anne Lammott book…sounds like I’ll have to check it out! 🙂 P.S. Way to be awesome and work on your book!!! Can’t wait to hear more about it as work progresses 🙂

Leave a Reply

