A Spring-y Monday

image from blogger 'Tongue Tied In Awe'

Hello dears!

Spring has finally come to Moscow! The temperature was around 20 C today – balmy, sunny, breezy with all the windows open, short-sleeved April spring. It’s been a long time coming, but spring was all-of-a-sudden. One day the snow was here, and then two days later it wasn’t!

We’re itching to get out of the city for some fresh air….how are you doing??

Internet has been spotty here – our provider has been changing things up, leaving us with slow, temperamental coverage. I’m afraid blog updates will be hit-and-miss until things are figured out…

Until then:

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Spring-y Monday

  1. Suz says:

    We have had the lilacs blooming in all their fragrant glory all over our city. It’s been wonderful!! Also – I like to participate in a local running club. It’s great fun to be out en masse, moving and visiting with other community members. Hope the internet thing smooths out soon!

  2. yolochka says:

    You’re Awesome. I like the kitten. and the lemonade stand article. I hope my kids are that awesome.

    • Emmers, no, you’re awesome. Wasn’t that lemonade stand article great?It made me laugh. Also, I’d like to point out that your kid is already that awesome. So how is it being back to work after maternity leave?? (ps. i miss you)

  3. Just wondering says:

    Hasn’t Moscow had an expat running club for ages? It seems like i remember announcements in Moscow Times. I’ve just recently started running a little bit myself, for the first time ever. I’m doing “Couch to 5k,” although I have no plans of ever running a race. Also, I have no idea how I would be able to keep it up during the summer, when it’s too hot even to move or breathe. Anyway, it’s fun for now.

    And the article on checking police…! Hard to imagine. I did hear of a situation where some friends of Anna’s in Odessa were being harassed by police who turned out to have just been fired or something. A Ukrainian friend actually ended up tackling one of the “police”! The police chief herself came out and straightened things out. I can’t remember all the details, but the whole situation was really weird and shocking and amazing.

    • Phyllis, I’m so impressed! How is running going? Does Jaan join you? Do babushki scold you?? You’re probably right about there already being at least one running club in Moscow….we’ll see what this Nike-sponsored one turns out to be like…
      My personal strategy with Russian police officers is to just speak English. It always freaks them out a little bit and puts them on their guard. I like knowing how to check their passports though. A friend of mine has had to do that here….

      • Just wondering says:

        Jaan usually rides his bike with me. The babushki are very interested, but they seem to think it’s a good idea.

        I’ve never tried speaking English with a police officer! I’ve heard of that strategy, but it scares me. Of course, I’ve never had a run in with Russian police either. I just try to be quiet when they’re near, because I don’t want them to hear my accent. My one encounter with Ukrainian police was rather comical. They needed someone as a witness, so they stopped me. I kept saying that I’m not a citizen, and that I really wouldn’t be a good witness. Remembering Russia, I was sure they’d fine me for not having my passport with me, or for having brown eyes, or something. When they finally accepted the fact that I couldn’t/wouldn’t be a witness, they thought it was hilarious. They kept laughing and teasing the guy who brought me in: “We wanted a witness, and you brought us an AMERICAN!!!” (Remember this is a really small town, not many Americans here.) They ended up shaking my hand, saying that it was nice to meet me, and sending me off, still laughing.

      • That’s so funny. The one time I had police at my door (they were looking for my neighbors) the English strategy worked. They immediately let their guard down. It was hard not to switch back to Russian though, especially with all the snide comments about “Sheesh, stupid American – if she lives here she should learn Russian.” The guy who talked to me was really polite though. I find I usually have the upper hand when I’m speaking in my native language and someone else is trying to figure things out in their second language…

  4. Phyllis says:

    Um, I don’t know why I was showing up at “Just wondering.” Sorry about that!

Leave a Reply

