Moscow apartments

Kiev apartment as featured on "The Village"

I’ve been living in a rental apartment for almost 7 years. I’ve purposely kept furniture acquisitions to a minimum, bound to the idea that all this is just temporary, and that I want to  be able to pick up and move easily when the time comes.

Economist husband and I are pretty convinced that this ‘temporary’ mode is the right decision for us currently, but both of us pine to have a place to call our own.

St. Petersburg apartment as featured in "The Village"

Moscow, sadly, is a hard place to buy. The average price per square meter for a Moscow residence runs about $6000 to $9000. In the neighborhood we’re currently living in a decent one-bedroom costs about $350,000.

So, for now, I’m happy with renting, but I love poring over interior design sites and cataloging away ideas for a future house or apartment. Moscow “The Village” blog has a series of posts on Moscow and Kiev apartments that I absolutely love.

St. Petersburg apartment as featured on "The Village"

I really like the idea of living in a small space and keeping my collection of stuff to a minimum, so I’m fascinated by these unique and creative small-space designs in Moscow, St. Petersburg and Kiev…I especially like the open layout living plans…

Take a look! What do you think? Do you own or rent? Do you prefer big or small spaces?

Moscow apartment, as featured on "The Village"

Moscow apartment as featured on "The Village"

P.S. Click on the pictures for full apartment tours and click here for “The Village’s” March collection of apartments (in Russian)

PPS. New York Times article on Moscow real estate

PPSS. “The Village” article on Moscow real estate (in Russian)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Moscow apartments

  1. Phyllis says:

    It’s been 11 years in rented spaces for us. I used to pine for my own home, but I’ve pretty much given that up now. 🙂 At this point, we’ve finally started buying some furniture, but even that is just because our current apartment was empty. We buy the cheapest we can find, with the thought that we’re likely to have to leave it behind. I would like to have a guarantee that everywhere we live from here on out will be empty, so that we could start choosing some quality things that we really like.

    This is also the first place we’ve lived with space and a somewhat open layout. I love it! I didn’t know how the crowded feeling weighed me down, or even how crowded we really were, until we moved into this apartment. I started feeling like I can breathe! Like I had been holding my breath and tripping over people for years.

  2. Suz says:

    You are a “girl” after my own heart! 🙂 I enjoy your perspectives.
    Blessings for Easter weekend!

  3. Maryfran says:

    All I can say is WOW about the prices.

  4. Pingback: How Expensive is Moscow, Really? | Breakfast in Moscow

Leave a Reply

