The Biggest Pot of Borscht Ever

photo via englishrussia.com

I really liked this collection of photo’s – the awesome, slightly cranky cooks peeling onions in their hairnets, the buzz-cut soldiers, and TONS of military-rationed food…..not to mention the biggest pot of borscht I’ve ever seen!

via englishrussia.com

via englishrussia.com

The pictures were apparently taken at a military cafeteria in the Leningrad region…

photo via englishrussia.com

photo via englishrussia.com

photo via englishrussia.com

photo via englishrussia.com

photo via englishrussia.com

Have you ever had borscht with a side of black bread and sour cream? It’s delicious!

Here are a couple recipes to check out (here and here) – my father-in-law says the secret to delicious borscht is to add a bit of pickle juice to your broth towards the end…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Biggest Pot of Borscht Ever

  1. 1st-time mom says:

    Love traditional Borscht! I’ve made it once, and my husband loved it. However it does take some time to make, so I usually go to my grandmothers if I want some. πŸ™‚

  2. My borscht definitely needs to have apple cider vinegar added at the end, and it needs to be cooked with potatoes in it. In Poland many people call barszcz only the clean liquid you get after straining the veggies (then they throw it out). I love to keep everything inside and eat that delicious and reach soup with fresh baked bread with butter on top (the butter is one of the most important things). I’m serious.
    oh… and I hate sour cream in my barszcz πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

