Baby names!

My little sister is going to have a baby in a few weeks. It’s very exciting! They decided not to find out in advance if it was a boy or girl, and they also aren’t telling anyone what baby names they like. In any case, I have babies on the brain thinking about meeting my new little niece or nephew.

I’ve always loved thinking about baby names, and I love hearing the beautiful name combinations that other people pick out. A few years ago I bought a baby names book just for fun, and economist husband and I have been talking about names since we first started dating.

One unique challenge we have is picking out names that work both in Russian and English. We’ve had to sacrifice a few that we like because they only sound good in one language. Boris, for example, is a name I really like and it sounds beautiful in Russian, but just doesn’t work very well in English. The same goes for Nastya.

Some friends of ours recently named their daughter Beatrice. Isn’t that a beautiful name? Other friends named their son Miles, which I think is adorable.

What about you? What baby names do you like? Really, I’m totally interested to hear! Are there any names that you really like, but you can’t use???

A fun site for baby name browsing is “Nameberry“. They had an article recently about hipster baby names (Ella, Frank, Milo and Violet, for example), or another article about the top 12 neglected girls’ classic names (Agatha, Rosemary and Martha, for example)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Baby names!

  1. I’ve kept a “baby names” list for over a decade, just for fun! I just love Russian names, though it felt like cultural appropriation to use one. I tend to love girls’ names that end with “a”, like Alexa and Marina, but they sound ridiculous with our last name (which is similar to Maddox), like a tool you’d buy on TV.

    Here’s a great name website: http://babynamewizard.com/voyager
    They have a tool that let’s you visualize a name’s popularity over time, which is cool if you are a geek like me. Check out the blog too. 🙂

  2. Phyllis says:

    My favorites are kind of old fashioned, less common, Slavic names. I usually threaten to pull out Chehkov, and choose from there.

    We finally used my all-time favorite: Bogdan. The first time around, we kind of thought it would be funny to Americans. Now I guess that doesn’t bother us so much… as long as they can pronounce it. 🙂 And, if he ends up living in an English-speaking country and thinking that it sounds funny, he can be Bob or something.

    With Asya, we thought we were choosing a simple one, but many Americans struggle with it. (They say “Ahshuh.”) I still think it’s lovely, and again, she could go with some other variation later. Her full name is Anastasiya.

    My beloved name that we probably wouldn’t use is Daniela.

  3. Phyllis, I LOVE that you threaten to take out Chekhov when it comes to baby naming!! 🙂 We can relate to your pronunciation difficulty – it’s the rare person who can pronounce our Ukrainian last name. Even Russians have trouble with it… Amy, thanks for the site recommendation – i’ll definitely be checking that out. How did you finally settle on your daughter’s name? It’s so pretty and unique! Do you have any boy names in mind?

    • I had a list of names we liked, but we didn’t choose Meret’s name until a few days after she was born. I wasn’t expecting to use that one (because it’s highly alliterative with our last name), but it just suits her. Meret is the Egyptian goddess of laughter and dancing and the name is said to mean “beloved,” which is the same meaning as my name. (I became familiar with that name from studying the work of artist Meret Oppenheim in college.) It’s rare that we meet someone who knows a Meret (or a Merritt, or a Merit). Poor girl will have a lifetime of correcting the spelling/pronunciation of her name, though.

      We joke that it’s a good thing we didn’t have a boy, because he still might not have a name. I had a couple that I liked, but was worried that they sounded too trendy (Jasper, Everett, Mercer), and our favorite name, Mathias (my great-grandfather), when shortened to Matt and combined with our last name, sounds like the word “mathematics.” I kind of love it, but I worry about it. We were also strongly considering naming a boy after my husband’s grandpa Delbert, but even though we love the name Del, it drew a lot of negative reactions from people (Dilbert?), so we were considering shortening it to Del or using it as a middle name. Argh. So difficult!

  4. Pingback: Exciting news! | Breakfast in Moscow

  5. Pingback: Popular Russian Baby Names | Breakfast in Moscow

  6. Rutu Patel says:

    I like also Russian name. Antosha, Boris all are Russian names. I am very choose to keep name.According to me name should be beautiful, Powerful & Impressive also. Because name is identity of people. & to choose name is a very first decision for their child.So its very difficult task.
    You will get more & beautiful name on http://www.babynamesnumerology.com/. Now parents go for numerology which believe lucky for baby. & you will get names followed by numerology.You can get numerology number by date of birth in this site.Also you will get English names, Hindu baby names, Tamil names with meaning & numerology. Thanks….

Leave a Reply

