Do you want to be a journalist? (part I)

A few years ago I was sitting in a cafe on Arbat Street in Moscow with some friends. We were all EFL teachers, and some of us started talking about how we didn’t want to teach English for the rest of our lives.

“What do you want to do after you’re done teaching?” one of my friends asked.

“I think I’d like to be a journalist,” I told her.

“I could see that. It fits your personality,” she said.

Which I took to be a huge compliment. It was the first time I’d  said it out loud, but it was true – I really did want to be a journalist.

Now, a little over four years later, I am! I’ve been working at a news agency as a TV producer for almost two years, and I love my job. It’s challenging, always changing, endlessly fascinating, often frustrating, exhausting, and a little bit insane, but I love the constant struggle and learning.

Is journalism something you’ve thought about doing? What do you think is interesting about it? Do you want to be a print, TV, photo, or radio journalist?

One thing that I’ve found really helpful as I learn more about my job is the conversations I’ve had with people who were already working as writers or producers, and willing to share their advice/stories about how they got where they are.

SO, I’m thinking about dedicating a few blog posts to journalism – telling you a bit of my story, and sharing some of the hints that other people have shared with me…

Tune in the next few days for more!

And until then, check out this FASCINATING video about social media (the current newsroom buzzword!):

P.S. any thoughts on social media? What do you think it means for the future of television? Entertainment? Civil Society? Journalism?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Do you want to be a journalist? (part I)

  1. Loved this video. Fellow journalist!

    Minted Magazine

    mintedmag.com

  2. Just checked out your magazine – so cool! Way to start up your own business!

Leave a Reply

