America!

cheesey cheese - American size

Oh America, I miss you!

Big streets, over-sized cars and dinner plates, people with friendly wide-open faces, cheesey smiles, loud American accents. New York volume; Minnesota sweaters.

A few weeks ago at work we got some video material in from Kyrgyzstan, and there was a surprise on it for me. In the middle of the dusty Bishkek streets, rattling Zhiguli cars, and lepeshka flat bread there was a guy with a shaved head and sunglasses who gave an interview in U.S. English! I swear he was from Wisconsin or something – I kept replaying the video just to hear his American accent.

It’s not that I don’t know any other Americans here – they just kind of get drowned out by all the Russian-ness we’re living in. I love Russia, but I miss America.

Economist husband and I are going to the U.S. to visit family soon. I’m going to take a break from posting for a few weeks and just try to drink up all the time with my amazing family and all the unnervingly friendly Minnesotans they live with.

See you back here in a few weeks! Merry Christmas!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to America!

  1. MMm, cheeses! But actually the best cheeses are probably back on your continent, well, the Europe-side.
    How long are you MNbound? Time for a coffee out?
    Jennifer Dougan
    http://www.jenniferdougan.com

Leave a Reply

