Weekending in May

Sabbath. Rest. Quiet.

Sometimes I don’t realize how exhausted I am until I turn off all the electronics…

And take a few extra days off of work…

And drive far, far away from the city…

Where the air is fresh…

And life is slow…

and the relaxation is so complete…

That I get my appetite back…

and get my sense of curiosity back…

and wonder…!

until prayer is no longer a wrenching, bullying torture, but as easy as a bike ride, or walk outside, or conversation with a friend over tea…

Oh, what would I do without this grace that I didn’t even know I needed?

“You gave abundant showers, O God; 

   you refreshed your weary inheritance.”  -Psalm 68:9

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

