Minnesota

antique shopping

antique shopping

Racks of hangar-ed clearance clothing, aisles of discount shoes, white-lit dressing rooms, giant black-paved parking lots, shelves of vintage plates and back-seats piled with plastic bags. My purse is full of paper – receipts, driving directions, coupons, telephone numbers.

It’s been such a whirlwind that nothing has really sunk in. Moscow, New York, Minneapolis, New York, Orlando. Shopping, family, dinners out, shopping, sleeping, cleaning, friends, driving, writing, buying, running.

What’s all the running for?

What am I chasing? What am I pursuing? What do I spend my time looking for?

Economist husband and I like shopping in America. Moscow has inflated prices, so we wait all year to stock up on things – winter boots, coats, jeans, shoes, Christmas gifts, medicine, skin cream, socks, pretty new shirts, bobby pins and lunch out at our favorite restaurants. We save a lot of money this way.

But it makes me think, what do I spend all my time chasing? I spend hours, several car trips, and a big chunk of my hard-earned money tracking down the perfect wool coat. What else do I spend that kind of time and energy getting? What else is important to me? Do I expend the same amount of energy pursuing the things that I claim are important to me? Valuable things rarely just drop into your lap – you have to hunt for them!

…the kingdom of heaven is like a merchant looking for fine pearls. When he found one of great value, he went away and sold everything he had and bought it.    -Mt. 13:45

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

