Breakfast and Quips from a British Chef

After biting into a mealy peach this morning for breakfast, I decided to turn my expensive and sadly inedible fruit purchase into jam. Inspired by pictures from Tara’s Going Slowly blog, I heated my 4 chopped-up peaches and nectarines with some lemon juice, cinnamon, honey, brown sugar, balsamic vinegar, and pinch of salt.

peaches, nectarines, sugar, honey, balsamic vinegar, salt and cinnamon simmering on the stove

peaches, nectarines, sugar, honey, balsamic vinegar, salt and cinnamon simmering on the stove

Then, needing something to eat my jam with, I decided to bake English crumpets. I’ve never actually eaten a crumpet before (or seen one, come to think of it!). Based on childhood reading, I used to think that crumpets and scones were some sort of amazing fantasy dessert in the cylindrical shapes of trumpets and cones. Having nothing to go on, I did a quick internet search, and found lots of recipes.

scrumptious jam and crumpets!

scrumptious jam and crumpets!

Scrumptious! In the end, the crumpets and jam were each so good in their own right that I ended up eating them separately. Yum! Far from the fanciful tea desserts of my imagination, the crumpets were, nonetheless, decidedly delectable.

Also, in my internet recipe search, I came across this great city quote from British celebrity chef, Jamie Oliver, during his visit to New York,

You have to be a hustler in the city, otherwise it’ll eat you up. I thought that was quite interesting – how you can’t just sort of coast. You have to go for it – all or nothing. -Jamie Oliver

I agree with him. This particular aspect of the city is both really hard and really good in my opinion. Just after moving to Moscow from the US suburbs, I remember realizing that the challenge of life was decidedly different here. The danger of life in suburban USA, I concluded, is that it can be so smooth, it lulls you to sleep. The danger of living in Moscow is that, if you don’t fight, it can crush you. I don’t know which is harder. I miss a lot of things about the States, but Moscow has certainly helped wake me up.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Breakfast and Quips from a British Chef

  1. Maryfran says:

    Crumpets look a little like english muffins are they? Proud of you for making lemonade out of lemons or is it jam out of mealy fruit?

    • They DO look like English muffins. I found out the recipe is only slightly different. Also, they taste much eggier…maybe that’s just the difference between homemade and grocery store version??

  2. Tara says:

    Elizabeth, that is so awesome you made jam! πŸ˜€ Isn’t it ridiculously easy and delicious?

Leave a Reply

